Exposition – Un jardin de peintre : fleurs d’Amélie Cossard, 1796-1852

Add to bookmark

Until 17 Oct 2022

About

Wednesday 20 April to Monday 17 October
Temporary exhibition: A painter's garden: flowers by Amélie Cossard, 1796-1852

Museum of Fine Arts and Archaeology (Musée Saint-Loup)
Graphic arts cabinet

In the heart of the painting galleries, the graphic arts cabinet, a hushed setting with subdued light, offers you twice a year a new display of drawings, watercolours, engravings or photographs, thus providing privileged access to these fragile and light-sensitive collections.

Amélie Cossard, who came from a great dynasty of Trojan painters, remains little known. Her drawings of flowers are the only remains of her work preserved in the museum. Could her status as a woman have held her back in her artistic career? Yet her works show real talent, and it seems that her artistic training was not neglected.

Contrary to what one might think, flower painting was largely practised by men at the time: it was essential for the decoration of art objects, which abounded in bourgeois homes. Moreover, at the beginning of the 19th century, women had access to training as painters, exhibited their works in museums, were recognised by the critics, and formed renowned workshops themselves.

Amélie Cossard exhibited a watercolour at the prestigious Salon de peinture et de sculpture de Paris in 1833, and lived in the capital, where artistic careers were made. Her father frequented the leading artists of the time, such as Antoine Gros and David. Can one imagine his daughter being deprived of any training as a painter in this context?

Amélie Cossard also painted portraits, an art form in which women painters were recognised, in the same style as her father. However, her trace is being lost, and the history of her work has yet to be written. The drawings presented in the Graphic Arts Room show garden plants, and it seems that the artist painted them freshly picked, with here and there imperfections and crumpled leaves. Could these be preparatory studies for paintings of bouquets of flowers, which were very fashionable at the time? Far from the scientific rigour of the botanist's plates, these works seem above all to have been produced... for pleasure.

The Musée Saint-Loup is open from Wednesday to Monday (closed on Tuesdays), from 10am to 1pm and from 2pm to 6pm.
Adult admission €5.50 / Free admission for under 18s and students under 25.

Date

Opening from 20 April 2022 to 17 October 2022
DaysHours
Monday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00
Wednesday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00
Thursday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00
Friday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00
Saturday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00
Sunday 10h00 to 13h00 and 14h00 to 18h00

Rate

Rate Min. Max.
Base rate Min: 5,50€ Max: 5,50€
Group
Group (more than 12 people)
Min: 3€ Max: 3€
Free
Free admission for all on the first Sunday of each month. Free admission for under 18s, students under 25 (on presentation of card), jobseekers, disability card holders, ICOM, journalists, Pass'Tourisme (on presentation of proof).

Situation

Notifications

Nearby

La Gerbe d’Or

La Gerbe d’Or

Fun Pizza

Fun Pizza

Au Bistro

Au Bistro

La Friterie Troyenne

La Friterie Troyenne

Paul

Paul

Quick Troyes

Quick Troyes

Troyes Star

Troyes Star

St Julien – Restaurant et Grill

St Julien – Restaurant et Grill

Aux Tables des Peintres

Aux Tables des Peintres

Exposition – Un jardin de peintre : fleurs d’Amélie Cossard, 1796-1852

Ajouter à une liste de favoris

Jusqu'au 17 oct. 2022

Ajouter à mon Agenda Google

À propos

Du mercredi 20 avril au lundi 17 octobre
Exposition temporaire : Un jardin de peintre : fleurs d’Amélie Cossard, 1796-1852

Musée des Beaux-Arts et d'Archéologie (musée Saint-Loup)
Cabinet des Arts graphiques

Au sein des galeries de peinture, le cabinet des arts graphiques, écrin feutré à la lumière tamisée, vous propose deux fois par an un nouvel accrochage de dessins, d’aquarelles, de gravures ou de photographies, pour offrir ainsi un accès privilégié à ces collections fragiles, et sensibles à la lumière.

Issue d’une grande dynastie de peintres troyens, Amélie Cossard reste pourtant mal connue. Ses dessins de fleurs sont les seuls vestiges de son œuvre conservés au musée. Son statut de femme l’aurait-elle freinée dans sa carrière artistique ? Ses œuvres dénotent pourtant un vrai talent, et il semble que sa formation artistique n’ait pas été négligée.

Contrairement à ce qu’on pourrait penser, la peinture de fleurs est à l’époque largement pratiquée par des hommes : elle est essentielle à l’ornement des objets d’art, qui pullulent dans les intérieurs bourgeois. Du reste, au début du 19e siècle, les femmes ont accès à la formation de peintre, exposent leurs œuvres dans les musées, sont reconnues par la critique, forment elles-mêmes des ateliers de renom.

Amélie Cossard expose d’ailleurs une aquarelle au prestigieux Salon de peinture et de sculpture de Paris, en 1833, et réside dans la capitale, là où se font les carrières artistiques. Son père fréquente les artistes en vue de l’époque, comme Antoine Gros ou David. Peut-on imaginer sa fille privée de toute formation de peintre dans ce contexte ?

Amélie Cossard réalise aussi des portraits, un art où les peintres femmes sont reconnues, dans le même style que son père. Sa trace se perd cependant, et l’histoire de son œuvre reste encore à écrire. Les dessins présentés dans le cabinet des Arts graphiques représentent des plantes de jardin, et il semble que l’artiste les ait peintes fraîchement cueillies, avec çà et là des imperfections et des feuilles froissées. S’agirait-il d’études préparatoires à des tableaux de bouquets de fleurs, très à la mode à l’époque ? Loin de la rigueur scientifique des planches de botaniste, ces œuvres semblent avant tout avoir été réalisées… pour le plaisir.

Le musée Saint-Loup est ouvert du mercredi au lundi (fermé le mardi), de 10h à 13h et de 14h à 18h.
Entrée adulte 5,50€ / Entrée gratuite pour les moins de 18 ans, étudiants de moins de 25 ans.

Date

Ouverture du 20 avril 2022 au 17 octobre 2022
JoursHoraires
Lundi 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00
Mercredi 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00
Jeudi 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00
Vendredi 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00
Samedi 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00
Dimanche 10h00 à 13h00 et 14h00 à 18h00

Tarifs

Tarif Min. Max.
Tarif de base Min : 5,50€ Max : 5,50€
Groupe
Groupe (+ de 12 personnes)
Min : 3€ Max : 3€
Gratuit
Entrée gratuite pour tous, le 1er dimanche de chaque mois. Entrée gratuite pour les moins de 18 ans, étudiants de moins de 25 ans (sur présentation de la carte), demandeurs d’emploi, titulaires de la carte d’invalidité, ICOM, journalistes, Pass’Tourisme (sur présentation d’un justificatif).

Situation

Avis

À proximité

Bodrum

Bodrum

La Marina

La Marina

O’Zen

O’Zen

L’Illustré

L’Illustré

Troyes Star

Troyes Star

La Boucherie

La Boucherie

Macasami

Macasami

Chez Carmen

Chez Carmen

La Piazza

La Piazza